ELEAGUE Announce Boston CS:GO Major for 2018

by Nikhil Hathiramani

The First CS:GO Major in 2018, But No Asia Minor Qualifiers

Announced early this morning (SGT), the 12th CS:GO Major will take place in January 2018. The group stages will be played from January 19-22 at the ELEAGUE Arena, in Atlanta, and playoffs held from January 26-28 at the Agganis Arena, a 7,200-seat arena located on the campus of Boston University.

This will be the second time that Turner’s ELEAGUE has been named the host for a Counter-Strike Major. The North American company also hosted the first Major of 2017, in Atlanta, which saw Astralis take home the grand prize of $500,000.

The Asia Minor, which will be held on October 26-29 in Seoul, won’t have an online qualifier, but only direct invites.

The abrupt announcement comes as a surprise to many, especially considering the schedule conflicts with on-going prominent events including EPICENTER 2017 and the Zen League Season 2 LAN Finals, all scheduled for the same week.

CSGO2ASIA has learned that Tyloo, Renegades and ViCi Gaming are among the current confirmed invited teams, with the additional five invited teams to the Asia Minor to be revealed soon.

Below is a summary of the Asia Minor as we know so far:

Location: Seoul, South Korea
Prize Pool: US$50,000
Teams Invited:
  • Renegades
  • ViCi Gaming
  • TBD
  • TBD
  • TBD
  • TBD
  • TBD

READ HERE: Preview: Asia Minor – ELEAGUE Major 2018

For the biggest news & insights on the Asian CS:GO scene and upcoming content like this, be sure to subscribe to our newsletter.

Don’t forget to follow CSGO2ASIA on Facebook, Twitter YouTube.

In Case You Missed It