Risky Gaming Win ESL India Premiership Summer 2017

by Nikhil Hathiramani

Their second Title in the Indian Championship

The ESL India Premiership is a year-long multi-game event catered specifically to the Indian market with three games — CS:GO, Dota 2 on PC and Clash Royale on Mobile, with a combined US$100,000 prize pool.

The CS:GO tournament follows a three-tiered structure, with a Master, a Challenger and a Starter division. The first two feature eight teams each, while the starter division acts as an open qualifier, with no team limit. With three phases that started back in April, the final eight teams in the Masters series came together to battle it out at the first LAN finals in Mumbai over this past weekend.

After a successful run in the inaugural ESL India Premiership 2016, Risky Gaming came back to dominate the 2017 Summer LAN Finals. Winning two out of three of the online Masters phases, the Dubai based team made clear that they are the team to beat with a strong start in Mumbai, taking out Shooting Monkeys and Team Brutality with relative ease during the quarter finals and semi-finals respectively.

Meanwhile, on the other side of the bracket, Entity Esports also found themselves cruising through the tournament. Starting off with a win against JMD Gaming, the Indian team went on to beat Team Wolf with the same prowess. Things were looking good for the initial match-up between Risky Gaming and Entity Esports at the winners finals, with the winner of this securing their spot at the best-of-three grand final.

Unfortunately for Entity, Risky proved too powerful for the all-Indian squad, crushing them 16–4 and forcing them to the losers finals to face off against Dare2Dream. Entity showed why they do indeed deserve the Grand Final spot by knocking out Dare2Dream with a comfortable 16–3 score on Nuke and 16–7 on Mirage.

The chance for Entity to prove themselves was now, but after a stunning blow in the first half of Inferno (4–11) the Indians were left with a bruised confidence going into the second half. Risky quickly took off after winning the pistol round on their CT side leaving Entity in the dust and taking the first map, Inferno, 16–7. After a few technical delays the second map, Cobblestone, was their chance to take it to a third. However, with yet another superior T side by Risky, Entity were unable to gain the momentum they needed going into the second half, finally losing to the Arab squad 16–6 and giving Risky Gaming the title of Summer 2017 Champions.

The final standing for the Summer Championship is as follows:

  1. Risky Gaming
  2. Entity Esports
  3. Dare2Dream
  4. Team Brutality
  5. Team Wolf
  6. SemperX
  7. Shooting Monkeys
  8. JMD Gaming

READ HERE: NASR Esports Picks up Risky Gaming

READ HERE: ESL India Premiership 2018 – Starter Cup #3

Featured image courtesy of ESL

For the biggest news & insights on the Asian CS:GO scene and upcoming content like this, be sure to subscribe to our newsletter.

Don’t forget to follow CSGO2ASIA on Facebook, Twitter YouTube.

In Case You Missed It